Commonwealth Architects
September 29, 2020

Top Honors Go To Commonwealth Architects

On Thursday, September 24, AIA Richmond virtually presented the 2020 Honors and Awards Program. A unique Zoom program was put together to accommodate for a newly socially distanced world while retaining the spirit and enjoyment of this great tradition in Richmond architecture.

The Marcellus Wright Jr. Award, considered the Chapter’s highest honor bestowed upon a Chapter member, and given to an individual nominated for their continuous service to the profession, was awarded to Mitch Rowland, AIA. Mitch is a dedicated member of AIA Richmond and is known in the community not only for his work but for his dedication to the craft and mentorship of countless architects.

Mitchell “Mitch” Rowland III, AIA recipient of the 2020 Marcellus Wright Jr. Award

Mitch has been recognized for his professional representation through leadership roles as the AIA Richmond President, Treasurer, and Board Member as well as the AIA Virginia Board Director, Treasurer, Finance Committee Member, Government Affairs Committee Member, By-Laws Task Force Member and Invest in the Future Task Force Member.

Stephen Weisensale, AIA and Lee Shadbolt, AIA, previous winners of the Marcellus Wright, Jr. Award, extend their congratulations to Mitch on a well-deserved honor.

Robert A. (Bob) Boynton, FAIA, a previous recipient of the Marcellus Wright Jr. Award and Mitch’s mentor for 8 years and partner for 29 years, celebrated the honor remotely noting that Mitch was a true Citizen Architect.

“His selfless service to the profession has elevated him above his fellow architects and he has now been so honored as the 29th recipient of the Marcellus Wright Jr. Award.”



Check out the recording of the virtual event here!

Other Recent News

Return to top of page Return to top of page